Following up on our iPhone 3.1 fix for the spotlight email bug post earlier I found that the deleted email itself is still in the iPhone memory. I tested this by keeping the spotlight search “alive” while preforming the delete. When returning to the saved spotlight the previous link is still shown and is still an active link to the deleted email, similar to how 3.0 bug works.
Not to worry though, as soon as you clear the search the deleted email is no longer referenced in future searches. So it seems even though the data is still on the phone the spotlight index (or at least the specific index referencing the deleted message) is now being cleared / updated immediately after deleting an email message in 3.1.
For those of you that don’t think this is a good enough fix since the data is still on the iPhone keep in mind that most computers don’t erase data when something is deleted, but just mark it as free. So the fact that the data is still on the phone is no more a security hole than using Outlook on any desktop computer.
Follow me on Twitter @justin_horn
- More details on the iPad mini new multitouch feature
- iPad Mini predictions
- Zune still the butt of jokes, this time on the Simpsons
- AT&T LTE No Service: Too many LTE iPhone 5 users?
- iPhone 5 cellular usage while on WIFI bug affects AT&T users as well
- Tim Cook responds to iOS 6 Map app issues in public letter
- iPhone 5 screen vs iPhone 4: Really close up
- iPhone 5 line at 5th Ave Apple Store (Updated 11PM)